5 tips to understanding the NDIS Rules and Registration Groups


Understanding the NDIS rules around audit, certification, verification and how to register is important. Centro ASSIST has done the hard work for you and deciphered the myriad of rules and regulations. Your risk level is determined by your Registration Groups and business structure.

Here are our tips:

1. There are 36 registration groups:

  • 8 are High Risk with complex supports that every three years you need to get certified, and annually you need to be verified by an auditor

  • 23 are Low Risk, less complex supports, such as home modifications and you only need verification, annually.

  • 5 require specialist modules 1-5 that are considered High Risk and require a certification audit

2. There are different support types:

  • Transport

  • Accommodation

  • Services

  • Products

  • Assistive Technology

The transport, equipment and product groups are all low risk. The rest including specialist accommodation services, therapy, early childhood services, and support coordination are all High Risk.

3. There are 5 registration groups that require special modules when you apply or renew. 

They have their own special policies and processes that you must adhere to. These groups are:

a. High Intensity Daily Personal Activities (Module 1)
b. Specialist Behaviour Supports (Module 2)
c. Early Intervention supports for early childhood (Module 3)
d. Specialised Support Coordination (Module 4)
e. Specialist Disability Accommodation (Module 5)

Basically anything that involves children, being in someone’s home, handling their money or having to use restraints will require what is called ‘Module 1-5’.  Our CORE PLUS product has all the policies and processes you require for Modules 1-5, including what you need to meet the core component for audit.

4. If you are offering a low risk service, such as a hearing aid or community nursing care or modifying someone’s car or home, then you can register or renew with the NDIS annually using the core self-assessment process

Here you have to identify which policies and processes you have to meet the questionnaire and how you adhere to the guidelines. Centro CORE has the 30 policies and processes you need to meet this audit requirement. It is a bit like the tax self-assessment – you complete it online and then you will be audited. Beware if you overstate your qualifications or ability to service participants because the auditor will be reporting to the NDIS Quality Commission the results of their observations.

5. If you are an individual sole trader or operating as a partnership you have a streamlined audit process requiring only a desktop review of your policies and processes. 

Anyone registering as a Company Pty Ltd will automatically require a certification audit. The price for the audits is different (more expensive for Certification).

If you are already registered with a professional body and need to be a member as a requirement of doing business, then you can also do a verification audit. Bodies such as Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) have their own standards, training requirements and code of conduct. By being a part of such a professional body, the audit requirement is a more straightforward process. Since the Therapeutic Supports registration group is nearly 50% of the listed service providers in the NDIS this means that they only require a verification audit and the 30 core policies and processes offered by our Centro CORE product.

Julie Wu